Bob Schaffer

For all of you not from Colorado, you might not have heard the name. He just went up against Mark Udall (D), in what was called a “Senate Showdown.” Talking about medicare, he either quoted or paraphrased an economist (and I’m either quoting or paraphrasing him) saying,

If I spend your money on me, all I care about is quality, I don’t care about cost. If you spend your money on me, you don’t care about quality, all you care about is cost. The worst situation is when the government spends your money on you, because they don’t care about quality or cost.

Brilliant.

2 Responses to Bob Schaffer

  1. Vic says:

    I am pretty sure the economist is Milton Friedman that he is quoting (from “Free to Choose”)

  2. marinalee says:

    Thanks Vic!

Leave a Reply

