Biden isn’t the only one from Scrantron

I walked in with a bias. Biden has worn his Scranton roots on his sleeves, and I find that abhorrent. He left when he was 10. That’s somewhere around the 4th grade. I grew up in the same section of Scranton as he did. During the 4th grade I was at Henry Longfellow PS 28. I was still quite undeveloped as an individual – as was every other person I knew (a retrospective assessment, of course). Did I relate to the coal-mining roots of my family and the area? Of course not! To relate to them would mean that I was aware of something different. I was just walking the three blocks to school, shoveling the snow, and trying to stay out of trouble. —http://myaisling.blogspot.com/2008/10/veep-debate-comments.html

I liked this. The way Biden bangs on about Scranton always annoys me, but I don’t have the background to say anything about it. He reminds me of the stereotypical grandparent, “up-hill, both ways, no shoes.”

One Response to Biden isn’t the only one from Scrantron

  1. clyde_m says:

    you’re my hero …

Leave a Reply

